Section 8 of the Code of Civil Procedure, 1908 provides for Presidency Small Cause Courts which reads as follows:

8. Presidency Small Cause Courts

Save as provided in sections 24, 38 to 41, 75, clauses (a), (b) and (c), 76, 1[77 and 155 to 158] and by the Presidency Small Cause Courts Act, 1882, the provisions in the body of this Code shall not extend to any suit or proceeding in any Court of Small Causes established in the towns of Calcutta, Madras and Bombay:

2[Provided that—

(1) the High Courts of Judicature at Fort William, Madras and Bombay, as the case may be, may from time to time, by notification in the Official Gazette, direct that any such provisions not inconsistent with the express provisions of the Presidency Small Cause Courts Act, 1882,15 of 1882 and with such modifications and adaptations as may be specified in the notification, shall extend to suits or proceedings or any class of suits or proceedings in such Court;

(2) all rules heretofore made by any of the said High Courts under section 9 of the Presidency Small Cause Courts Act, 1882,15 of 1882 shall be deemed to have been validly made.]

  1. Substituted by Act 104 of 1976, s, 4 tor” 77 and 155 to 158″
  2. Ins, by Act I of 1914, s, 2
  3. For instance of such direction, see Calcutta Gazette, 1910, Pt. I, p, 814

News Reporter